2 Comments

I used to be an adventurer like you, then I took an arrow to the knee

Ok, have you ever wondered how to get that one guy who is always talking in some weird code? He is probably saying something stupid or silly then ends with “until I took an arrow to the knee” or what is with his weird obsession with that cute poptart cat thing. Chances are you are dealing with an internet sleuth or a gamer guy.  So, Congrats! Now that you have established what type of guy you have, you are probably wondering. “How can I get his attention?!”

Simply enough, enjoy his likes. Start with the stuff you think is a little silly or cute. But GoodMANtality is here to help out.

What I have here today is:

Credit to Knowyourmeme.com

I use to make posts on blogs, then I took an arrow to the knee.

This specific meme originated from Bethesda Softworks Game Studio’s The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim  that was released on November 11th , 2011. So this meme is actually not that old. The script that began this meme is the NPC’s (Non Player Character) guards that would often say, ” I use to be an adventurer like you, then I took an arrow to the knee.”

Now, the history or spread of this meme probably does not concern you, however if you are interested, click here! KnowYourMeme.com does a great job for those who are a little curious about memes and their history.

However what concept that should be of interest to all those girls is why is this so funny? or maybe “How do I show that guy that I took An arrow to the knee?”

First things first, try playing the game. If your guy uses the meme, he either plays or just knows about it. If he plays it, ask to try it out! You may not enjoy the game all that much, but you’re a step closer to understanding why this is quite silly. As you continue, you should notice that Every Single Guard will say that line. If you didn’t get a chuckle or even a smile out of it by now, you my friend need to consider a new guy (or keep trying!) But the real beauty of this is how exploitable it is. The line has launched off several spin offs using other memes and created a whole new realm of gamer funnies.

See what I did there? A Superbowl reference. Such exploitable images and lines like “Took an arrow to the knee” will generate several more. Have some fun with it, they are supposed to be funnies. There are many other ways to adapt this meme and it takes just a dash of creativity!

“Arrow to the Knee” Summary:

  1. From Skyrim
  2. “I use to _____, then I took an arrow to the knee”
  3. Change it up for more fun!
  4. Impress that guy that makes those stupid jokes.

More arrows to the knee related:

Next time: NyanCat. 

Image credit to their respective owners which is actually hard to find the specific individual in regards to memes, however here is my attempt.

knowyourmeme.com,quickmeme.com, memebase.com, and canv.as… (i pulled the batman picture from canv.as anyways), IGN & youtube for the video.

Edit: added in sources for pictures. video link and so on.

2 comments on “I used to be an adventurer like you, then I took an arrow to the knee

  1. http://shirt.woot.com/reckoning

    There is a w00t shirt there with the same reference! who knows how long it will be available

  2. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this webpage on regular basis to take updated from most recent information.

Leave a comment